As I watched with amazement because the pizza maker flipped the spinning pizza dough an excellent source of the environment, then finally he creates the perfect landing zone for a few red tomato sauce and tasty toppings. Then, I remembered that my son will not be able to eat his favorite food. The dough has gluten, I told him. Then we walked around the mall and grabbed some Chinese food..
In order for your dough to keep elastic and stretch since it spins in mid-air, the dough features a composite of gliadin and glutenin proteins called gluten. In fact in Latin, gluten means glue. The glutenin in wheat flour is what provides the elasticity and chewiness for the dough.
Gliadin and glutenin come from the endosperms of many grass-related grains, including barley, rye and wheat. While gluten is commonly related to bread and other baked goods. You need to be cautious with hidden sources within your food, so unless the product is called gluten-free or is created from non-gluten sources. Be very vigilant in what you eat.
Look out! A� Food Starches unless they may be created from arrowroot, potato, tapioca or corn A� Flours unless they may be made out of pure rice, corn, potato or soy A� Some medications A� Malt (so no longer Beer L) is used like a flavoring or coloring A� Cream sauces might use a thickening agent made out of gluten A� Distilled white wine vinegar is maid from grains A� Spices might contain flour as a filler A� Soups might use a roux based from flour A� Restaurants can cross contaminate so be aware of a gluten certified kitchen
Very surprising places for gluten! A� Cosmetics A� Envelopes that you lick the adhesive A� Lotions A� Toothpaste A� Mouthwash
Now I've been experimenting with different gluten free doughs to generate my very own pizza. So far Gluten free cakes is created by Bob's Red Mill. I also substitute the egg with the egg substitute created from gluten free starches. Activated nuts is to roll the gluten free dough out with a rolling pin. Since, I prefer a thin crust pie, the crust is crispy which I like.
It's taken a little while for my son to acquire use to the fact that he can not eat breads, cakes and pizza made from wheat flour. The non-wheat flour breads, cakes and pizza's are already surprisingly delicious. Fortunately being gluten sensitive for him is really a temporary situation for your next several months. Activated nuts with Celiac Disease must avoid any supply of gluten to the rest of their lives.